Hillary v. Trump Rant

This is what you give us to work with?  Hillary or Trump?  Seriously?  These two people are the best candidates that our country’s two major political parties can come up with?  This raises many questions in my mind – if you couldn’t tell that by the fact that this is the first non-interrogative sentence I’ve written this post.  First, are our political leaders even trying?  Second, if this is who the party leadership chooses to nominate, is it time that we change the party leadership?  Third, what happened to all the sane, reasonable people?  Is this really the best our country has to offer?  I refuse to believe that!  Maybe it’s just that all the people who would make fabulous leaders are fed up with politics so they put their energies into a more-fruitful arena.  I hope that’s the case.  And I hope that in four years, one of them will get a crazy hair to venture into the political game.

With the top of the ticket looking the way it does, I would usually decide not to vote.  I mean really, what is the point of going to the polls and trying to choose the lesser of two very poor decisions?  But here’s the problem with that thinking.  In November, we won’t just be electing a president.  National senators and representatives, state senators and representatives, judges, and school board members are also up for election.  If we choose to abandon our right to vote for the top of the ticket, we also choose to abandon our right to vote for all of our other elected officials.  Experience is the harshest teacher, and my experience here in Kansas is that bad things happen when good people choose not to get informed about their local politics like I have done in the past.  Shame on me!

Luckily, I don’t have to vote for Trump or Hillary, and I can still have my voice heard.  I realize that I could go to the polls and leave my presidential choice blank while still weighing in on my local political leaders.  But there is another option – one that I am seriously looking forward to using this year – the write-in candidate.  I can go to the polls and write in a name!  A name that is not Hillary or Trump.  Bingo, baby!

The other excuse I have commonly used for why my voting record is measly is that I haven’t felt informed on election day.  I would rather make no decision than make an uninformed one.  I still believe this to be the best case.  If you don’t know anything about a person, just don’t vote.  Please, don’t vote for someone just because they have a D or an R behind their names.  Trump and Hillary are followed by one of those letters also.  If you are not informed, you have no one to blame but yourself.  Before this campaign, I had no clue what district I lived in.  I would hear all these ads, see yard sign after yard sign, and feel overwhelmed because there were so many candidates to research.  Turns out, really there aren’t that many if I just focus on the ones I can actually vote for.  So if you are like me and you are uncertain of what district you live in, go here.  Fill out your information and get informed!  They even have sample ballots that you can view so you know exactly who to research.  A simple Google or Facebook search will give you all kinds of information about a candidate.

What are you waiting for?  Get informed! Go vote!

Leave a Reply

